

CAFA DISTINGUISHED ACADEMIC AWARDS, 2025

The Confederation of Alberta Faculty Associations (CAFA), which represents the academic staff associations at the University of Lethbridge, Mount Royal University, Grant MacEwan University, and Athabasca University, is delighted to announce the recipients of the CAFA Distinguished Academic Awards for 2025.

- CAFA Distinguished Academic Early Career Award 2025:
 Dr. Florence Ashley, Faculty of Law, University of Alberta
- CAFA Distinguished Academic Award 2025:
 Dr. Caroline McDonald-Harker, Department of Sociology and Anthropology,
 Mount Royal University
- CAFA Distinguished Teaching Award 2025:
 Dr. Victoria Bouvier, Department of Humanities, Mount Royal University
- Distinguished Precarious Teaching Award 2025:
 Ashley Stasiewich, Department of International Business, Marketing, Strategy & Law, Grant MacEwan University

This year's Awards Selection Committee faced a particularly difficult task in choosing among many outstanding nominees representing a wide range of disciplines.

The 2025 CAFA Awards will be presented at a reception and dinner in Edmonton on Thursday, September 25. Please watch for a forthcoming media release providing complete details.

The annual CAFA Awards are designed to recognize excellence and raise awareness of the many ways in which the scholarly or creative work of university academic staff members serves the wider community outside our universities. Open to all Academic staff at all Public Universities, the CAFA Awards aims to acknowledge and highlight academic excellence in our provincial universities.

The Committee extends its sincere congratulations to the 2025 award recipients and nominees and thanks all who engaged in the nomination process.